ATEPS 2023+

ATEPS 2023: Leading Trade Agreements for Sustainable Futures

Tuesday 21 November 2023

Fale Pasifika, Waipapa Taumata Rau, University of Auckland

Register here

Full programme and Speaker Profiles

Full programme (PDF)

The next Auckland Trade and Economic School will be a one-day event on Tuesday 21st November:

8.45-9.25: Registration on site with coffee

9.30-9.45: Welcome and Overview

  • Dr Erik Lithander (Deputy VC, Strategic Engagement, Waipapa Taumata Rau, University of Auckland)
  • Prof. Jennifer Curtin (Founding Director, Public Policy Institute, Waipapa Taumata Rau)

9.45-11.00: Panel 1: Trade and Trade Policy: What just happened and where to next?

  • Vangelis Vitalis (MFAT)
  • Sarah Salmond (MinterEllison)
  • Michael Fox (Zespri, NZBC)
  • Stephanie Honey (Honey Consulting)
  • Chair: Brett O’Riley (EMA)

11.00-11.20:  Panel 2: UK-EU-NZ Trade Policy Futures

  • Stephen Cartwright (Consul General and Trade Counsellor, British Consulate Auckland)
  • Diane Lacoste (Head of Trade, Delegation of the European Union)
  • Chair: Associate Prof. Maureen Benson-Rea (University of Auckland)

11.20-11.40: Morning Tea

11.40-12.45: Panel 3: Business as Usual or New Opportunities?

  • Justine Arroll (General Manager, Trade Strategy, Fonterra)
  • Peter Hunter (Auckland Bioengineering Institute and Horizon Europe, University of Auckland)
  • Prof. Natasha Hamilton Hart (Management and International Business, University of Auckland)
  • Glynis Miller (Trade Commissioner, Pacific Trade Invest NZ)
  • Chair: Dr Rob Scollay (University of Auckland)

12.45-1.40: Lunch

1.40-2.00: Panel 4: Advocating for Inclusive Trade (Video from the OECD Trade Policy Division)

  • Jane Korinek (Trade Economist and Policy Analyst, OECD)
  • Jennifer Curtin (Public Policy Institute, University of Auckland)

2.00-3.15: Panel 5: Indigenous trade leadership

  • Carrie Stoddart-Smith (OpinioNative)
  • Tania Te Whenua (Te Whenua Consulting)
  • Andrew Watene (KPMG)
  • Chair: Tane Waetford (MFAT)

3.15-3.40: Afternoon Tea

3.40- 4.40: Panel 6: Engaging the public and translating the value of trade

  • Joshua Hitchcock (Te Kotahitanga o Te Atiawa)
  • Richard Harman (Politik)
  • Fran O’Sullivan (NZME/NZ Inc)
  • Chair: Clare Wilson (NZTE)

5.00-7.00: Reception and close

Register here

Speaker Bios

Print Friendly, PDF & Email